Mr Happy is growing up.

Another week has gone by and soon we’ll be saying goodbye to September and hello to October. For those who are in New Zealand and Australia it is Spring, (although the weather wise the past few days, it feels like winter again!). And for my lovely family and friends in England, it’s Autumn for you. I would say I have adjusted to the seasons being at different times of the year, but I don’t think Christmas in the summer will ever seem right to me.

The night before last was another night we had Mr Happy in bed with us. He isn’t very good at settling at bedtime and quite often he will want to snuggle with me on the couch and fall asleep. I love the snuggles with my boy, so I’m not complaining. After all the days of falling asleep on me are dwindling.

At some silly time last night, around 2am, when I was either being used as a pillow or kicked in my back, (nice!). I thought of this blog post. It’s good when the ideas start flowing and I just hope I can remember everything I want to write the next day.

Since Mr Happy appears to have been unsettled at evening bedtime, we thought it could be the cot. He has always enjoyed sitting and sleeping on our bed and likes to sit on Little Miss’s bed for stories and to sit on it reading stories. My hubby came up with idea to take one of the cot sides off. It isn’t a cot-bed cot, but we thought lets give it a go. Needless to say, it didn’t really work. Afternoon naps were also starting to becoming a challenge……..

We decided it was time to say goodbye cot, and hello bed. We planned to buy bunks and seperate them and continue with Little Miss and Mr Happy sharing a room. We told Little Miss our plans and she was excited when we went bed shopping this past weekend. We let her have a go at trying to climb the bunk ladder and she did really well.

12028929_10156089618670721_669105524_n

Little Miss & Mr Happy trying out new duvets

12021983_10156091924335721_1359516146_n

The finished bunks with a sleeping Mr Happy at the bottom

On Monday the bunks were delivered, assembled and the kiddies went to sleep. Ok, so Mr Happy fell asleep with me again in the evening and he came into our bed, but early days though right?

He has gone down for his afternoon asleep no trouble yesterday and today. I put him on his back, and I lay down on the floor next to him, (on the cot mattress) and within minutes he turned onto his side and went to sleep! WINNING!!!! 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

12047322_10156089618655721_1516888573_n

Mr Happy rolled onto his side and went to sleep.

So it’s the end of an one chapter for Mr Happy and now he begins another. He has said farewell to his cot and is embracing his big boy bed. He turned 17 months last week and is certainly a little boy/toddler these days. We can see his personality started to really develop. He is such a caring, social boy. He loves books, exploring and being outside. He is often in a flood of a tears and I have witnesses a couple of mini meltdowns when Little Miss leaves for Preschool and Daddy goes to work, he is beside himself for a couple of minutes. I usually give a him a big cuddle but he will struggle in my arms, a little distraction helps too. Usually toys, the promise of more toast usually does the trick and then I finally get a cuddle.

I am surprised I am not more upset about the cot being dismantled, it’s the first time since 2012 that there is no one using it or planning to use it. What will we do with it now? I think for now it will just be packed away. Its funny I have been excited at the prospect of the kids using bunk beds. I think their excitement rubs off onto me. It was lovely to hear the excitement in Little Misses voice asking when would the bunk beds be here, and Mr Happy wanting to play peek-a-boo with his new duvet.

 

12053289_10156089618715721_1406865597_n

Mr Happy upset he doesn’t get to go with Daddy & Little Miss

The kiddies are growing up, I’m not sad today but one day it might hit me. I know that we as a family have a lot more things to look forward to and more memories to create.

12030808_10156089618695721_1302241961_n

Awwww the tears

 

cropped-craftyorganisedme-sig.png

Leave a Reply

