Dear Lily

I realise as I start to write this, the person who it is intended for my actually never see it. But that is not going to stop me from writing. I need to write to this person, they need to know how their story has provided me with comfort at times. What we have both experienced, as well as what others have experienced, well there are no words to explain it. There are many words I could use to describe it, but I am not going to list those words right now.

As soon as I saw the post on social media post yesterday morning, I had to open the link immediately. I read the brief story and then I listened, to a beautifully written song.

Here is the song “Something’s Not Right” Lily Allen contributed to the movie Pan.

 

Lily Allen thank you. Thank you for sharing this song and your thoughts about your Son with the world.

I remember hearing and reading about the loss of your son five years ago, I was heartbroken for you. I couldn’t imagine what you were thinking, feeling and going through at that time. I felt sad for you and just wanted what I reading not too be true. Through your music and seeing you perform live, you came across as such a feisty, carefree and strong woman. Would or could you still be this woman I imagined she you were this heartbreaking loss? I guess the only person who can answer that is Lily herself.

Lily you have kept your loss of your Son private and I thank you for now sharing. On the anniversary of the fifth year since you first met your boy. The words are beautiful and honest. You may of been told you are a strong and brave woman, and you truly are. Although at times you would not of felt like that. I too have had those words to me and I too do not feel strong and brave. I have experienced something very similar to you though, I too lost my firstborn baby, a Son.

I mentioned earlier I remember the time when you had your loss, it was before I knew I was pregnant with my first baby. After my loss, I thought about you and realised we had something in common, we had both joined a club we didn’t want to join. I find myself rereading your story on the Internet, I was desperate to talk to anybody who understood and could give me any form of comfort at that time.

Like yourself, I too am a strong supporter of Sands. I went to my first meeting a month after Alex died and I still go to monthly meetings now, four years on. I am extremely passionate about Sands and I’m constantly searching for ways to awknowledge Alex’s memory.

I will now end this note to you now Lily, we will probably never meet but I wanted you to know how truly special this song is, thank you again for sharing it. I know it is not always for everyone to share and put their thoughts and feeling out there for others to read and hear.

Here on The Daily Mail website Lily Allen shares how losing her Son is something “I’ll never get over”

I will end this post by sharing my favourite Lily Allen song ‘The Fear’

cropped-craftyorganisedme-sig.png

 

One thought on “Dear Lily

Leave a Reply

